2022 Hill Staff Homebrew Champion

(Press Release) Washington, D.C. • Dec. 8, 2022 – Brewing up bipartisan camaraderie on Capitol Hill, the American Homebrewers Association® (AHA) announced the 2022 winners of the Hill Staff Homebrew Competition.

Returning after a two-year hiatus for its fifth iteration, individuals and teams of eligible congressional legislative staff and federal employees submitted an array of homebrewed beers for judging. Full details—including information on the competition rules, regulations, and beer style guidelines—can be found here. Entries were evaluated by a prestigious group of certified beer judges and professional brewers.

Julia Herz, executive director of the American Homebrewers Association, announced the winners during the Brewers Association’s annual holiday reception on Capitol Hill.

“Homebrewing is a delicious hobby that brings people together,” said Herz. “It’s exciting to see the Capitol Hill community embrace the ingredients of bipartisanship, beer, and friendly competition. Congratulations to this year’s winners and thank you to all who entered.”

The 2022 Winners:

  • Capitol Hill Staff Homebrew Champion, Best of Show: “Stuck In Committee,” Strong Bitter, by Joshua Sizemore, Office of Senator Steve Daines (R-MT)
  • Second Place: “Hot Toddy Ale,” Winter Seasonal Beer, by Molly Ryan, Office of Senator Susan Collins (R-ME), with co-brewers Tim Stretton and David Ross
  • Third Place: “Santos L. Halper,” Belgian Dark Strong Ale by Nathan James of Congressional Research Service

This year’s participating congressional offices included the offices of Representative Earl Blumenauer (D-OR-3), Senator Susan Collins (R-ME), Senator Steve Daines (R-MT), Representative Rodney Davis (R-IL-13), Office of the Majority Leader Steny H. Hoyer (D-MD-5), Representative Mike Kelly (R-PA-16), Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), and Congressional Research Services.